My first month with VIPKiD

Hi, everyone… It’s been a busy month or so. I thought I’d drop in and give you all an update.

Well… the first few weeks went great with VIPKid. Then for some reason China had a holiday called Sweeping Tomb’s. To put it in a nutshell, this is China’s memorial day and they go to all parts of the country to clean family tombs and leave food and money to the dead. Strange, yet interesting to learn about a culture that I didn’t know about.  (I didn’t have many students that week.) 😦 That’s one thing about working for another country, you learn about other people’s culture and how things are similar and different to your own.

Bookings? Well…. If I haven’t explained already, let me do that now. You can set your own hours between 5pm-10pm Beijing Time, which is roughly 12 hours different on the East Coast of the USA. VipKid recommends about 7.5 hours a week. That’s a nice round number. I’m now working about 9 hours in total. It’s slow at first, but at this moment I can tell you my bookings are starting to pick up.

By the third week, I was offered a job promotion. I don’t know how many other people get this offer, but I was asked if I’d be interested in teaching Pre-VIP, which is really the companies preschool curriculum. I joined and at this moment I’ve only taught two Pre-VIPs, but I have several others coming up. It can get strange sometimes, you can have a Pre-VIP first 25 minutes, and the next could be a Level 5, and your third student could be Level 2. WOW!!! Talk about adaptation!  I need lots of props for my Pre-VIPs and need fewer for my level 5s and maybe a few flash cards and entertainment puppets for Level 2 and 3.

Does it get stressful?

Well… it can get stressful, especially if kids are late for class or are having difficulty understanding with the material. I know when a kid is struggling and I think they can tell by my facial expressions there is something slightly wrong.  It also makes me feel bad, when I’m sensing other teachers haven’t been teaching the students correctly. 😦 When you have to keep repeating sentences with the kids about 4 times, it does get stressful. But in the end, you are really happy you took the time, because they now understand the material.

Well… That’s it for now… If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment below and maybe I’ll just blog about your ideas. 🙂 Also, if you think you could be a great candidate for the program, message me below as well. I’ll give you ideas in order to pass the mock and recommendations for videos to watch in order to prepare for the interview. I’ll also give you my super duper special link to sign up.

See you soon and happy Teaching.

Author: lovebird122107

I'm a VIPKID ESL teacher, licensed cosmetologist, certified makeup artist, crafter, beauty blogger, and somewhat a fashionista.

Leave a Reply

